Honoraria Committee

Committee Members: L. Dizney, D. J. Hafner, V. Hayssen (Chair), M. C. Kalcounis-Ruppell, M. Matocq, J. Merritt, K. Nutt, D. Ribble, T. Roberts, R. Rowe, P. Stapp, S. Vignieri, and G. Wilson.

Mission:

The committee's mission is to select students to be honored for their research in Mammalogy.

Information Items:

- (1) The Honoraria Committee awarded 3 graduate honoraria, each for \$750, to Karen Mabry, University of California-Davis for the Anna M. Jackson Award; Jackie Metheny, University of North Carolina at Greensboro, for the Elmer C. Birney Award; and Ana P. Cutrera, Universidad Nacional de Mar del Plata, for the A. Brazier Howell Award.
- (2) The Committee awarded 3 undergraduate honoraria, each for \$400. Honoraria were awarded to Vagan Mushegyan, University of Central Oklahoma; Ali Raza, City College of New York; and Samuel L. Skalak, Christopher Newport University.

Action Items:

(1) 2008 Budget Request:

\$2400	3 * \$800 for graduate travel awards (AM Jackson, B Howell, EC Birney)
<u>\$1350</u>	3 * \$450 for undergraduate travel awards
\$3750	Total budget request

Justification: All funds requested are for the awards with \$50 per award increase due to increased travel costs.

Respectfully submitted,

Virginia Hayssen (Vhayssen@email.smith.edu)